Tale as old as time…

by dbthehype

tumblr_ml9s74Fmdi1rlc0zmo1_500

This past Saturday I had the pleasure of taking a walk down memory lane with one of my favorite Disney movies, Beauty and the Beast. Gateway Playhouse’s production of the beloved Disney classic was brought to life at the Patchogue Theatre for the Performing Arts. It did not disappoint. I was transported back to my youth where I would watch that poor VHS tape like it was my job. Although I was hesitant to be surrounded by children, the atmosphere was quite enchanting and they were surprisingly well-behaved. The singing was amazing (especially the voices of the Beast and Gaston) and I got a preview of Melissa Mitchell (Belle), whom will be in the Broadway revival cast of Les Miserables to begin performances on 3/1/2014 at the Imperial Theatre. The dance numbers were wildly entertaining and the Beast came across as both intimidating and endearingly funny. As my first non-Broadway regional show, I was pleasantly surprised and encourage any Disney fans to “Be Our Guest”. Below is a sneak peek so this lovely production currently running until December 29th. Tickets start at $25-$65 and there’s a kids free promotion with every adult ticket purchased.

 

 

