G R A V I T Y

by dbthehype

Once upon a time I was a movie junkie. I’d seriously be at the movies every weekend, willingly coughing up my hard earned money to those Hollywood execs and or “supporting” my favorite actors. Hey, somebody’s gotta support all of Ryan Gosling’s and Henry Cavill’s projects! However, in 2013 alone I saw a measly all time record low of 4 movies. Aside from getting an eyeful of man candy, I also love movies with actual substance that give the good ol’ brain something to think about. Such was the case of Alfonso Cuarón’s masterpiece GRAVITY.

At my brother’s request, we headed on down to our local United Artist and indulged in a pretty private showing of the movie in 3D. My mind was utterly blown away. Not since Stanley Kubrick’s epic film 2001: A Space Odyssey, have I had such a strong reaction to a movie; must have something to do with the dichotomous relationship I have with all things outer space. Being lost in space or just the idea of space travel scares the bejeezus out of me, no HAL or monoliths necessary. GRAVITY follows the terrifying journey of Dr. Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) on her first space mission accompanied by seasoned veteran astronaut Matt Kowalski (George Clooney); while giving us a first hand look at the incredible spirit of human survival in the face of extreme adversity.

My hat goes off to the Mexican Director, Alfonso Cuarón, on creating and sharing such a mesmerizing tale worthy of all the hype, praise and every award out there. GRAVITY has reawakened my love for movies. Below are the trailers for GRAVITY, 2001: A Space Odyssey for your viewing enjoyment along with a bone-chilling (maybe that’s just me) look at HAL.

